Yankee Hotel Foxtrot is Overrated

12Nov10

Wanna know a secret?

Okay, it’s not really a secret anymore because, by now, you’ve read the title, which isn’t entirely discreet.

Here goes: Wilco’s uber-celebrated 2002 release Yankee Hotel Foxtrot is overrated.

I’ve been trying to keep my mouth shut about this for a while now. It has been approximately 11 months since everyone and their Mom and their Grandma placed Foxtrot near the top of Decade Lists. Alas, I cannot stand it any longer and must speak up!

Here are 3 reasons that Foxtrot is overrated:

*Jeff Tweedy sings flat on “I am Trying to Break Your Heart” and “Radio Cure.” Beyond the notes being technically flat, they are also sung in such an insipid manner that it can be a bit of a chore to feast my ears upon.

*In my opinion, you have to earn noisy experimentation in a song. You have to build up to it or set the mood for it. It comes across bipolar and discordant to simply paste distorted noise at the end of a pop song (as Wilco do in “Ashes Of American Flags” and “Poor Places”).

* “Heavy Metal Drummer” sounds like a Weezer radio single circa 2008. And that, in my book, is a problem.

All of this being said, I am a fan of Wilco and do quite enjoy many of their albums (thanks to the wisdom and nudges from my good friend and music connoisseur, Frank). Foxtrot, however, is an utter disappointment that just won’t go away.

2 Responses to “Yankee Hotel Foxtrot is Overrated”

  1. I read this piece of writing completely regarding the comparison of
    newest and earlier technologies, it’s awesome article.

  2. This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am in
    fact happy to read everthing at alone place.


Leave a Reply

